top of page

Market Research Group

Public·11 members
Matt Bejang
Matt Bejang

Kelley Armstrong: The Reckoning - A Thrilling Conclusion to the Darkest Powers Trilogy

Kelley Armstrong: The Reckoning - A Thrilling Conclusion to the Darkest Powers Trilogy

If you are a fan of supernatural fiction, you might have heard of Kelley Armstrong, one of the most popular authors in the genre. She is best known for her Women of the Otherworld series, which features various types of paranormal beings such as werewolves, witches, vampires, and more. But she has also written several other series and standalone novels, including the Darkest Powers trilogy, which is aimed at young adult readers.

kelley armstrong the reckoning epub 19


The Darkest Powers trilogy is a gripping story of a group of teenagers who discover that they have supernatural abilities and that they are part of a sinister experiment by a secret organization called the Edison Group. They have to fight for their survival and freedom while also dealing with their personal issues and relationships. The trilogy consists of three books: The Summoning, The Awakening, and The Reckoning.

In this article, we will focus on the third and final book in the series, The Reckoning, which was published in 2010. We will give you a brief summary of the plot, an analysis of the main characters, and a discussion of the themes and symbols that make this book a thrilling conclusion to the trilogy. We will also tell you why you should read this book if you haven't already, or why you should revisit it if you have.


What is the Darkest Powers trilogy?

The Darkest Powers trilogy is a series of young adult novels that combine elements of horror, fantasy, romance, and mystery. It follows the adventures of Chloe Saunders, a 15-year-old girl who has the ability to see and raise ghosts. She is sent to Lyle House, a group home for troubled teens, after having a breakdown at school. There, she meets other kids who also have strange powers: Derek Souza, a werewolf; Simon Bae, a sorcerer; Tori Enright, a witch; and Rae Sanders, a fire-starter.

They soon realize that Lyle House is not what it seems, and that they are actually subjects of an experiment by the Edison Group, a shadowy organization that has been genetically modifying supernaturals for decades. They manage to escape from Lyle House with the help of Andrew Karofsky, a former employee of the Edison Group who claims to be on their side. They also learn that they are not the only ones who have been experimented on, and that there are other groups of supernaturals who are either allies or enemies.

Who is Kelley Armstrong?

Kelley Armstrong is a Canadian author who was born in 1968 in Sudbury, Ontario. She has a degree in psychology from the University of Western Ontario and worked as a software developer before becoming a full-time writer. She published her first novel, Bitten, in 2001, which introduced the world of the Women of the Otherworld, a series that has 13 books and several short stories and novellas. She has also written the Nadia Stafford series, the Cainsville series, the Age of Legends series, the Rockton series, and several standalone novels and anthologies.

She is known for her strong female protagonists, her diverse and complex characters, her rich and detailed world-building, her fast-paced and suspenseful plots, and her witty and engaging writing style. She has won several awards and accolades for her work, such as the Aurora Award, the RT Reviewers' Choice Award, the Bitten by Books Reviewers' Choice Award, and the YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers. She lives in rural Ontario with her husband and three children.

Why should you read The Reckoning?

If you have read the first two books in the Darkest Powers trilogy, you probably don't need any convincing to read the third one. But if you haven't, or if you need a reminder, here are some reasons why you should read The Reckoning:

  • It is a thrilling and satisfying conclusion to the trilogy that wraps up the main plot and subplots, answers most of the questions raised in the previous books, and gives a glimpse of what happens to the characters after the final showdown.

  • It is a well-written and well-crafted book that balances action, romance, humor, and emotion. It has a smooth and coherent narrative that keeps you hooked from start to finish. It also has a clear and consistent voice that reflects the personality and perspective of Chloe, the narrator.

  • It is a book that explores important themes and issues that are relevant to young adults and adults alike, such as identity, self-discovery, trust, betrayal, power, responsibility, family, friendship, love, loyalty, courage, sacrifice, and choice.

  • It is a book that features diverse and relatable characters that you will care about and root for. They are not perfect or flawless; they have strengths and weaknesses, hopes and fears, dreams and doubts. They also grow and change throughout the series, learning from their experiences and mistakes.

  • It is a book that offers an original and intriguing take on the supernatural genre. It introduces different types of supernaturals that are not commonly seen in other books or media, such as necromancers, shamans, half-demons, etc. It also creates a realistic and believable setting that blends the paranormal with the mundane.

So if you are looking for a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat, make you laugh and cry, make you think and feel, and make you want more, then The Reckoning is the book for you.

Plot Summary

The Awakening: The Second Book in the Series

The second book in the Darkest Powers trilogy picks up where the first one left off. Chloe and her friends are on the run from the Edison Group after escaping from Lyle House. They are joined by Andrew Karofsky (also known as Kit), who claims to be Simon's father and Derek's guardian. He tells them that he used to work for the Edison Group but left when he found out what they were doing to supernaturals. He also tells them that he has contacts who can help them hide from their pursuers.

They travel to an abandoned warehouse where they meet another group of supernaturals who have been experimented on by the Edison Group: Liz Delaney (a ghost), Russell (a half-demon), Corey (a shaman), Tori's mother (a witch), and Liam (a werewolf). They also learn more about their own powers and origins: Chloe is a necromancer who can raise zombies; Derek is a werewolf who can change into a wolf; Simon is a sorcerer who can cast spells; Tori is a witch who can manipulate electricity; Rae is a fire-starter who can create fire.

However, things go wrong when they discover that Liam is actually working for the Edison Group and has betrayed them. He kidnaps Rae and Tori's mother and sets fire to the warehouse. Chloe and her friends manage to escape with Liz's help but get separated in the process. Chloe ends up with Derek while Simon ends up with Tori. They decide to meet at Andrew's safe house in Badger Lake.

The Reckoning: The Final Book in the Series